Within the Users category, you can set different levels of administration access for your Digistorm Website. On the left-hand side, you’ll notice that you can switch between the All users and Admins list. The key difference between the two is that an admin can edit any part of your website, while non-admin users are restricted to a limited set of permissions.

Adding a new user

To add a new user to your website, click on the new user button. While not all values are required to be completed on this page, we recommend adding as many details as possible to make the long-term management of your CMS easier.

You can choose any Username for your new user, as long as it is unique to them. We recommend choosing a value that users already know, such as their school email address or a combination of their first and last names. Once you’ve entered these details and are ready to create your new user, hit save.

The new user will then automatically receive an email with an account verification link. By clicking this link, they’ll be able to securely set their password and access their new account.

By default, new users are not able to edit any settings on your website. If you would like to update a users’ settings, head over to the permissions page and enable the relevant check boxes.

Resetting a user password

If you need to reset the password for a user account, select the user and then check the require password reset on the next login checkbox, then hit save. This will force the user to create a new password the next time they log in.

The Account Status section on a user account highlights whether the user has clicked the link that was sent when their account was registered. When they’ve confirmed their account, this will change to a green dot indicating the account is verified.

User Permissions

Permissions define the level of access a user has to the CMS. At the most basic level, users only have access to the public parts of the site, and while they’ll be able to log in, they will not be able to access the control panel.

Permissions can be assigned to users in one of two ways. You can choose to create a unique set of permissions for a particular user, or you can assign them to a user group that has its own set of specified permissions. When assigned, these permissions will apply to every user in the group.

Individual permissions

From the Permissions tab within a users’ profile, you can select the individual permission items that are relevant to the user by ticking the checkboxes next to each item. Once you’ve selected the relevant items, click save.

Did this answer your question?